Pokemon Go

a few days ago i woke up to the exciting news of a new Pokemon game. My friend sent me the video which i will happily include in this post. These are my initial thoughts

  • Pokemon has returned to its root. (remembering your roots Pokemon, very cool) what do i mean by this. The old trading system had users face to face with one another actually talking to one another. Something that over the years of technology developing it the way it has, trading has become very impersonal. This seems to bring pokemon back to is original social features, with us getting out and talking to one another.
    • the down side to this could be for the people like me who live in more rural areas, where there are not a while lot of people around, of if there is another player around they could be a distance away. i would like to see how they would go about implementing something like this so that everyone feels included and its not something like only people who live in nyc can get a Mewtwo but people out in the boonies only run into Hopip.

 

  • the idea of going out to the world and finding real pokemon, is really exciting to me. I am the first to admit that i am not exactly healthy and could use motivation to exercise. it seems like pokemon over the years has seemed to accepted responsibility of trying to get its players up and moving. It seems to had started with Gen 4 and the rerelease of of soul silver and heart gold with the pokewalker. I loved that thing and until the battery died and i lost it in the black hole that is my bed room, i used it a lot. I loved taking my pokemon for a walk and it inspired me to move more. I think that the idea of going out to the world and finding my favorite pokemon. I might even get myself some hiking boots.
    • the downside here could be people who live in the city. if this is implemented like certain pokemon only show up in certain spots, someone like me who has access to a verity of different landscapes, (mountains, lakes, rivers, plains and caves if i wanted. Folks in the city may only have access to city and maybe one kind of body of water.
    • another downside or possible potential hazard is the people in rural. i don’t care how good of pokemon might be ahead of me if i am in a situation where i am driving and a pokemon appears on a busy rode i will pick life over mon. They will have to be really careful to make sure pokemon don’t appear on major interstates or intersections or where going to find some injured or dead pokemon fans.
  • I also love that this will be available, on a phone rather then a 3ds and here is why. I have found over the years is much easier to stuff a phone into a purse or pocket then a 3ds. Its bad enough that now a days that taking the size of the 3ds into consideration when buying a new purse.
    •  however the phone could lead to its own separate trouble. particular with data costs, or if it becomes like shuffle is now, where you have pay for certain items in the game. I think price for this new little add on may also me a major factor too, hopefully its only a one time cost but who knows.
  • In some ways i feel like this game has a posiblity of giving fans something we have been asking for a very long time, a massive multiplayer game. It may not be in the way that fans had dreamed but i think it is so much more then what fans dreamed, bringing pokemon into real life.
    • my concern is they will stick to only one generation, while i am excited for go there was one thing i noticed in the trailer…all the pokemon featured were gen 1 pokemon. now i am not sure if this is because gen one pokemon are pretty much the most well known or that they are only sticking with gen 1. If its the later your leaving out 568 other pokemons. (yes i did the math…well i used a calculator.) I really hope they allow all of the pokemon to be found, i would love to find a little joltik.

There is still much to learn and i am sure as the weeks pass, we will learn more about how this works. I am sure like others i have a lot of questions, questions which i am sure will be answered as time passes. In the mean time lets just enjoy the possibility of pokemon in the real world

 

2 responses to “Pokemon Go

  1. I understand your comment about the downside of people living in the city and rural that if they will get less chance to find pokemon.
    IMO people will love their pokemon more when they aint too busy looking for new ones and for they will enjoy the event more than those who have choices to do it everyday.
    Nintendo might based their event on the community of the game so you will have to force your other friends to play Pokemon GO together and probably hunt for wild pokemon in a department stores because it is too dangerous to do it in a street.

Leave a comment